The Prisma project
 

How do construction methods, material and play of a musical instrument influence its sound? Answers to this question of musical acoustics can give important insights to instrument makers and musicians. In many papers, researchers have tried to explain properties of instrumental sounds by using physical models. This approach was successful in many cases; however, subtleties like the timbre of a tone cannot be understood by physical models in general. Indeed, every physical model assumes simplifications about the instrument. As an example, consider a recorder model: in general, an exact cylindrical bore and perfectly smooth inner walls are assumed. On the other hand, it seems that the timbre of a tone is relevantly influenced by the irregularities of the instrument. Hence, physical models explain only a certain part of the musical reality.

In the Prisma project we pursue a different way. We consider the sound generation as a black box which generates a sound depending on the making of the instrument, the player, the surrounding space and other parameters. At the output side of the black box, measurable quantities (features) related to the played sound appear. Prisma is a system which computes and visualizes these features. By varying the input parameters in a systematic way and observing the resulting features at the output, a user can improve his understanding of his instrument.

 
 
Input   Black box   Output
 
Material
Geometry
Play
Surrounding space
Musical context
Sound production in the instrument
Fundamental frequency
Sound energy
High partials to signal ratio (a measure of the overtone content)
Spectral centroid (a measure of the overtone or noise content)
etc.
 
 
The Prisma project began in 2001 as a collaboration between the Berne University of Applied Sciences (Engineering an Information Technology) and the Zürich University of the Arts (Department of Music). It was supported by the Swiss National Foundation (DORE program) between 2003 and 2005.

An important milestone was the launch of the Prisma-Realtime system in 2005. Since then, the software has been improved and supplemented steadily. Whereas former versions of Prisma-Realtime mainly served as a tool for visualizing the basic spectral data (frequencies, magnitudes) of a tone in real time, the present Version 1.3b (March 2010) enables users to inspect the time behaviour of features derived from these spectral data. In addition, the analysis of transient phenomena (e.g. articulation of instrumental tones) and of low tones (ca. 85 Hz and higher) are possible.

As a result of a research project, Prisma-Realtime can be downloaded freely from this website -> Publikationen, Downloads.

The -> Gallery contains examples of Prisma tone analyses.

Projekt Prisma
 

Wie wirken sich Bauart, Material und Spielweise eines Musikinstruments auf seinen Klang aus? Diese Frage der musikalischen Akustik beschäftigt Forscher seit längerer Zeit, und Antworten darauf können für Instrumentenbauer und Musikerinnen interessant sein. In zahlreichen Forschungsarbeiten wird versucht, die Eigenschaften von Klängen mit Hilfe physikalischer Modelle von Instrumenten zu erklären. Dieser Ansatz ist zwar in vielen Fällen erfolgreich; er versagt aber, wenn es um Feinheiten wie das Timbre eines Klangs geht. Der Grund liegt darin, dass in jedem physikalischen Modell Vernachlässigungen gemacht werden. Zum Beispiel nimmt man bei einer Flöte eine exakt zylindrische oder allenfalls konische Bohrung und glatte Wände im Innern des Rohrs an. Es ist aber anzunehmen, dass das Timbre eines Klangs gerade von Irregularitäten des Instruments massgebend beeinflusst wird. Physikalische Modelle vermögen deshalb nur einen Teil der musikalischen Realität zu erklären.

Im Projekt Prisma verfolgen wir einen anderen Weg: Wir betrachten die materiellen Eigenschaften des Instruments, Spielweise, Raum und musikalischen Kontext als Eingangsgrössen einer Black box, deren Ausgangsgrössen einzelne objektiv messbare Kenngrössen (Features) des musikalischen Klangs sind. Prisma ist ein System, welches diese Kenngrössen misst und visualisiert. Indem ein Anwender die Eingangsgrössen kontrolliert verändert und dabei die gemessenen Features beobachtet, lernt er sein Instrument besser verstehen.

 
 
Eingangsgrössen   Black box   Kenngrössen des Klangs
 
Material
Geometrie
Spielweise
Raum
Musikalischer Kontext
Klangerzeugung im Musikinstrument
Signalstärke
Grundfrequenz
Spektrale Daten (Frequenzen, Amplituden)
High Partials to Signal ratio (misst Obertongehalt)
Spectral Centroid (misst Obertongehalt und Rauschanteil)
usw.
 
 
Das Prisma-Projekt begann 2001 als Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Berner Fachhochschule (Technik und Informatik) und der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (Departement Musik). Es wurde zwischen 2003 und 2005 vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds (Aktion DORE) unterstützt.

Ein wichtiger Meilenstein war die Publikation des Echtzeitsystems Prisma-Realtime im Jahr 2005. Diese Software wird seither laufend weiterentwickelt. Während frühere Versionen von Prisma-Realtime lediglich die grundlegenden spektralen Daten (Frequenzen und zugehörige Amplituden) auf verschiedenen Weise visualisierten, können mit der gegenwärtigen Version 1.3b (März 2010) auch die zeitlichen Verläufe von daraus abgeleiteten Short time features dargestellt und untersucht werden. Ausserdem sind nun auch Untersuchungen von Kurzzeitphänomenen (etwa die Artikulation von Instrumentaltönen) und tiefer Töne bis ca. 85 Hz möglich.

Prisma-Realtime wird als Resultat einer Forschungsarbeit kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt -> Publikationen, Downloads.

Die -> Galerie enthält Beispiele von Prisma-Tonanalysen.